Reflections on God's superabounding grace

Every contradiction becomes an opportunity for the reinforcement and confirmation of the truth, rather than a distraction from it. Truth realized makes of faith a fortress!” – Francois du Toit

To me, I see this in terms of how God uses contradictions as golden opportunities to confirm and reinforce the truth, instead of worried that people might be distracted from the truth. 🙂 We see that many times in the gospel accounts – every fresh challenge or doubt concerning the truth about Jesus Christ is an opportunity for Him to declare who He is to the people.

So, whenever something bad or contradictory happened, such as Lazarus’ death which might have caused people to doubt Jesus’ identity, God used this contradiction as an opportunity to manifest the truth that Jesus is the Resurrection and the Life. If this contradiction had not occurred, there would be no opportunity for Jesus to confirm and reinforce the truth He is the Resurrection and the Life. Surely He will also manifest His resurrection power in every area of our life when we see Him for who He is – He is our Righteousness and Life-giving Spirit – “not having my own righteousness, but the righteousness that comes by faith in Christ, that I may know Him and the power of His resurrection“. (Philippians 3:9-10)

“And He said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore, I will most gladly boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.” (2 Corinthians 12:9)

Leave a Reply

