Book Review: "Your Best Life Now" by Joel Osteen

Cover of "Your Best Life Now: 7 Steps to ...
Cover via Amazon

Title: Your Best Life Now: 7 Steps to Living at Your Full Potential

Author: Joel Osteen

Category: Inspirational/Motivational

I remember when I first read this book in January 2006, I had no idea who Joel Osteen was. A friend gave me this book, saying the author understands God’s grace or favour. So, I decided to read the book and man, was I blessed and encouraged by what he wrote. Joel has a gift of encouragement, and his messages are simple and clear and easy to understand. He has a revelation of God’s heart of love for each one of us, and this book has helped me to know more about how much God loves me and wants me to succeed in life.

It so happened that I was going through a tough time in my life when I was reading this book. I was recovering from stress burnout and heart palpitations, and I was spending most of the time convalescing at home for almost eight months that year. This book was a timely gem, as it restored hope into my life to start expecting good things to happen to me. I began to learn to accept myself the way God accepts me, knowing that I am made in His image. I began to look forward to seeing improvements in my life, such as having better health and finding a better, less stressful job. Indeed, by August 2006, my health has improved and I began to start working in a company again, in a much less stressful environment.

Some of my favourite passages from this book includes: “Live favor-minded. Get up each day and expect it and declare it. Say, ‘I have the favor of God.'” Learning to guard my thought life and speak positive, faith-filled words over myself and my loved ones is one of the most helpful lessons I gained from reading this book.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Pingback: film izle
  2. Thanks for the link to my Quote Plus 100. Would you be interested in reviewing my poetry book, “Letters to the Rock” by Leonie Phoenix? It is a spiritual journey in poems.

    1. jimmytst says:

      You are welcome. I have checked out your poetry book in Amazon.com and it looks interesting. Yes, I will be glad to review your book though I wonder how much time I will be given to review as I am sometimes busy. I look forward to your reply. Peace and blessings to you.

      1. Thanks for agreeing to write a review. Do you want me to send you a hard copy or are you ok with an electronic one?

Leave a Reply

