Acts 20:24 Why is the gospel known as the "gospel of grace"?

“But none of these things move me; nor do I count my life dear to myself, so that I may finish my race with joy, and the ministry which I received from the Lord Jesus, to testify to the gospel of the grace of God.” (Acts 20:24)

I have asked this question in Yahoo Answers, and received a few responses. Here’s compiling some of the answers.

1. The New Living Translation of Acts 20:24 says: “But my life is worth nothing to me unless I use it for finishing the work assigned me by the Lord Jesus—the work of telling others the Good News about the wonderful grace of God.” It is probably because the Gospel IS about God’s grace.

2. The word Gospel means “good news”. The New Testament is about the good news that the new covenant between God and mankind is based on God’s grace and not our works.

3. The Christian life is ALL of grace, ALL of Christ, not about us producing anything good in us, but one being utterly dependent and casting themselves on Him totally.

4. The gospel means good news. If it is not all about grace, it is not good news. If the sermon on the mount is just an even more impossible law to follow than the one the Jews had, then the good news is just the same old law repackaged and remarked under a new name and we are all lost. No one will ever see heaven except for Jesus and the angels. But I believe the gospel is the good news because God freely gave us heaven IF WE TRUST IN JESUS! The law and the sermon on the mount were given to show all men guilty before God. We are saved by the shed blood of Jesus Christ and heaven is a free undeserved gift.

So there we have it. The gospel is good news. There is no bad news in the good news. Grace is God’s undeserved favour. Through Jesus’ finished work at the cross, we are saved from sin, death and condemnation forever.

What are your own thoughts about this question? Do feel free to share your comments too.

Leave a Reply

