[Union with Christ] One Nature

DAILY EMAIL GOODIES
Issue #2531 November 21, 2010

ONE NATURE

“Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creation: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new” (II Corinthians 5:17).

I do not have two natures. I had an old one that used to be. I have a new one that now is. The battle is not an inward struggle between two me’s.

Not that there’s not a battle. It is just that it’s a battle of faith. The battle is about believing what God says is now true about me. It centers in me believing that I am who God says that I am.

Many are seeking to be liberated from themselves. They think that they are in the midst of a great battle between their two selves – their two natures. This is not what the Scriptures teach!

Paul clearly writes that we, “…WERE by nature the children of wrath…” (Ephesians 2:3).

A new nature has not been added to our old one. This would only be confusion, and God is not the author of that (I Corinthians 14:33). What we where by nature in Adam is in the past; it is – “were.”

Christ once-and-for-all dealt with my former self at the cross. He has now made me a new self.

I am not now liberated from myself. I am liberated to be myself. I am now free to be who I really am; the real me – the only me that there is – the new creature that God has made me in Christ.

Clyde L. Pilkington, Jr.
© Bible Student’s Notebook™

Leave a Reply

