"Go", "Come" and "Do this" – A Reflection on Jesus' Words

And when Jesus was entered into Capernaum, there came unto Him a centurion, beseeching Him and saying, Lord, my servant lieth at home, sick of the palsy, grievously tormented. And Jesus said unto him, I will come and heal him. The centurion answered and said, Lord, I am not worthy that Thou shouldest come under my roof: but speak the word only, and my servant shall be healed. For I am a man under authority, having soldiers under me, and I say unto this man, Go, and he goeth; and to another, Come, and he cometh; and to my servant, Do this, and he doeth it. When Jesus heard it, he marvelled, and said to them that followed, Verily I say unto you, I have not found such great faith, no, not in Israel.”–MATT. viii. 5-10.

I believe the centurion somehow had a revelation that Jesus has absolute authority over all creation. He probably didn’t know Jesus has issued or will issue similar commands when he said those words to Him, but those commands were the very commands Jesus used to get things done for the good of those who trust in Him.

Go

Matthew 8:28

And He said to them, “Go.” So when they had come out, they went into the herd of swine. And suddenly the whole herd of swine ran violently down the steep place into the sea, and perished in the water.

This is a command Jesus used to cast out evil spirits. We have the same authority given by Him.

Come

Matthew 11:28

Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.

This is a gentle invitation Jesus gave to all who are burdened by the yoke of the law, for He wants to give us rest. When we heed his invitation, we will find rest for our souls, for His yoke is easy and His burden is light. We will flow with the unforced rhythm of grace and remain stress-free, anxiety-free, condemnation-free.

Do this

1 Corinthians 11:24

and when He had given thanks, He broke it and said, “Take, eat; this is My body which is broken for you; do this in remembrance of Me.”

This is a loving instruction Jesus gave to His disciples to partake of His body and blood in remembrance of Him. When we discern that His body was broken so that our bodies would be made whole, we will receive health, wholeness and longevity.

Leave a Reply

