A christian mystical view of yoga

Someone asked a question in Yahoo Answers:

Yoga – does it really cause you to call upon demons?

Our pastor did a Wednesday night special Bible study working through Neil T. Anderson’s the “Bondage Breaker”. One of the topics that was brought up was that Christians shouldn’t practice yoga because the different positions cause you to call upon different demons – that is why you become so flexible/strong/whatever so fast. Is there any historical basis to yoga being connected with demons?

From what I have learnt, yoga comes from Jesus’ own teaching, since yoga means to be yoked with Him. I think evangelical christian ministers who demonise yoga are just being sin-conscious and demon-conscious, to the extent they denounce anything that is not “christian” as demonic. It makes me wonder why they celebrate Christmas, since it is pagan. I have practised yoga myself, and I find it a wonderful way to meditate on my oneness with God – “be still and know I Am”.

It is like Jesus’ gentle invitation to the Jews to come to Him, who were weary and heavy laden, and he would give them rest, and to learn of Him, for He is meek and lowly, and they would find rest for their souls. “For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

Additional resources

What is a mystic?

I believe that everyone who wants to love unconditionally is a mystic. All children are born mystics, and if you were once a child, you were once a mystic. Christian mysticism is following the example of Christ as he followed the Father. And mysticism is not by any means restricted to Christianity: the Bible says, “everyone who loves is begotten of God, and knows God.” (1 Jn. 4.7)

JESUS TEACHER OF YOGA

Matthew 11:29 Take my yoke upon you and learn of me, for I am meek and lowly in heart and you shall find rest unto your souls.

For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.

Of course a yoke can be a burden that restrains its wearer.

But we are considering Jesus who speaks of the inner kingdom, seeking within, entering within oneself to find the key of knowledge, practicing the single eye and taking no thought.

Jesus and Yoga

The Yoga of Jesus: Understanding the Hidden Teachings of the Gospels

The Yoga of Jesus

One Comment Add yours

  1. buddha says:

    I agree I am a Christian and yoga and meditation has made me a better Christian.

Leave a Reply

