[Book Review] “God Is Not a Christian, Nor a Jew, Muslim, Hindu…: God Dwells with Us, in Us, Around Us, as Us” by Carlton Pearson

If I were to think about what the most influential book in my life is so far, “God Is Not a Christian, Nor a Jew, Muslim, Hindu…: God Dwells with Us, in Us, Around Us, as Us” by Carlton Pearson came to mind. I bought it about 1-2 years ago, when I was transitioning from mainstream christianity to a more inclusive form of spirituality.

Many of the things he shared in the first half of the book coincide with the things I have been learning in my journey, such as the expose of the myths of a literal hell and a literal devil and a literal second coming of Christ.

The second half of the book presents some expansive and progressive ideas about spirituality that is inclusive and universal. I find myself returning to read and appreciate and reflect on his ideas time and again, in awe and wonder of the revelations he shared about our divinity in humanity.

 

4 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

