Living a life of simplicity, wealth sharing and community ~ Shane Claiborne

Video information

Produced By: Cheryl Weber
Shane Claiborne is part of a new movement of people being called the “new monastics”. With culturally divergent views on issues like simplicity, wealth sharing and community, his views have been called both controversial and refreshing, depending on the source. Reporter Cheryl Weber sat down with him recently to find out more about what he believes and why.
http://thesimpleway.org

I agree with his views that everything be done in love is what matters, as he shared from Mother Teresa’s quote “we can do no great things, only small things with great love” and we can do so one person at a time, as well as the quote from 1 Corinthians 13.

“And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, and have not charity, it profiteth me nothing.”

1 Corinthians 13:3

Yes, love or charity reflects the attitude of the heart, just as John Wesley himself demonstrated love by living a charitable life, giving regularly to worthy causes and not keeping much money for himself so as to be free from the power of money and possessions. I also agree Christianity is about being the hands and feet of Jesus (and not just about doctrines) so that the world can see, touch and feel the love of God through the body of Christ (who is all of us). As the quote by St Francis of Assisi goes, “Preach the gospel always, and when necessary, use words.” It is good of Claiborne to share this timeless reminder.

The poorest president in the world
Collective Evolution: “If we follow the money supply, it’s easy to see where it leads, who controls it and what these people are involved in.”
►www.collective-evolution.com/2012/12/12/finance-and-economicsfollowing-the-money/

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Excellent post. And thank you for sharing that inspiring quote from Saint Francis, whose prayer I have memorized for regular inner recital but hadn’t heard of this before. “When necessary, use words” I love that! Thanks again Jimmy. ~Gina

    1. jimmytst says:

      Thank you for your encouraging comment, Gina. It is my pleasure to share inspiring materials. It is thanks to my best friend who shares useful and thought-provoking materials with me, which gives me the opportunity to meditate on them and share my thoughts in my blogs. I like the prayers of St Francis too, especially the prayer song “Make me a channel of your peace”. Peace and blessings, Jimmy

Leave a Reply

