Thoughts on Living in the And: Atheism for Lent

Here’s sharing this blog about “Living in the And”. It is refreshing to see Lent from a non-traditional (or non-religious) Christian perspective because while religious practitioners seem to revel in their so-called humility by showing their god/deity how “repentant” they are by renouncing some things in their lives, the author of this blog doesn’t subscribe to the religiosity but rather choose to see Easter from a proper perspective as just another way to mark the symbolic transition from death to new life, similar to the Earth day celebration in pagan traditions, Chinese New Year and Jewish Passover during springtime.

I like this revelation shared by the author of the blog:

“For me, personally, I am looking at the death of who I was (more accurately, who I thought I was) and the rebirth of myself into who I am becoming. It is a time every year when I consciously try to let go of habits of thought and pre-conceived ideas about who I am, of what I think the world is, of How Things Are.”

Yes, that aligns with the symbolic death and resurrection of Christ, esoterically speaking. From my understanding of the gospel, we died with Christ to who we thought we were and we were raised together with Christ to who we really are, seated together with him in the heavenly places (higher consciousness). As the verse goes, “in Adam all died and in Christ all shall be made alive”. I believe since the parousia, we have been all made alive in christ, and each person is on a journey to discover their aliveness by knowing their true self.

I also like the author’s explanation about how “Yogis talk often about the Space Between the Breaths, a little death in the middle of the breathing that sustains us. Enlightenment, they say, is to be found in the Space Between, in the And of in-and-out.” This reminds me of the power of silence I blogged about recently – in silence we hear the still small voice of Love in our heart/spirit, and even as we observe our thoughts and emotions that may surface from past repression, we experience healing and renewal and transformation. This may be an ongoing process in our lifelong journey, although the symbolic story of death and rebirth in Easter traditions or spring festivals can be a suitable way to describe this phenomenon, which makes it meaningful.

Leave a Reply

