On stewardship – pondering the mysteries of the book of life

I noticed I tend to treat the spare iPhone, that was loaned from a mobile phone shop, with more caution, as in not getting it wet, than I treated my own iPhone in the past. Maybe I can change my perspective and view all my “possessions” as not really mine, but rather loaned items for me to exercise stewardship over. Would that help me to treat them with more care and respect, so to speak?

For example, if I were to view my bicycles as items that are loaned to me from the Universe, I would then consciously be (even) more careful when riding them. Similarly, my life and my body can be seen as not really mine, but rather borrowed vessels from the Divine Source, and I am only here on Earth for a period of time.

So in this way, I can and will live life more consciously with the aim to make good use of the borrowed time and material as long as I am in this world. As an Australian Aboriginal saying goes, ““We are all visitors to this time, this place. We are just passing through. Our purpose here is to observe, to learn, to grow, to love… and then we return home.”

Life then is like a library, and I am like a library book – I came from the library, and to the library I shall return. My life on Earth is like a book on loan for a period of time. Like the apostle Paul wrote, I am a living letter to be open and read by others. Thus, I am a living book… and the book of life is within me.

Leave a Reply

